Progress!

file-3 (002)After 12 years off the water and 5 months in the shop my boat is back among the living.  Given the condition it was in, I truly did not think it could be restored.  I give it a 9 out of 10 – I am so happy.

Saturday saw me putting parts back together and assembling everything.  Fortunately I had stockpiled bits and pieces over the years and didn’t need anything new.  That’s good, because it seems that everything associated with rowing is uber expensive these days.

I managed to sneek over to the lake and cruise around for 30 minutes without the benefit of a permit.  I have a lot of work to do, but gosh it felt great!

As far as the boat goes, I just need to work out a few bugs with the electronics, which is now old technology, but just as good as ever.

On the bike front, I picked up some Schwalbe tubes that I’m going to install on the Trucker.  They’re supposed to be better quality.  I also think I might switch some parts around and thin the herd – let go of the Black Bike and/or the wife’s Marin.  We’ll see.

Leave a comment