Ride Report: 09.03.08

I took a nice fitness ride around the northern part of the township last night at dusk.  It sure is getting dark earlier now and the lights on the bike really make a difference.  Two “highlights” to my ride: as I was going down Imanuel Road I remembered the two german shepherds that have come after me, so I had my pump out and ready in war club fashion…except the dogs were no where to be found.  Peace through strength.  While going across Observatory Road, right at the observatory in fact, I got close enough to a deer to slap it on it’s white tail.  It was pretty dark by then and there were three or four crossing the road in front of me.  The last one was focused on following the ones in front and never saw or heard me coming. 

The only other thing of note was on a longish climb up Rt. 177.  There was a steady string of cars passing me, and the amount of exhaust as they pulled the hill was pretty scary.  I was already breathing harder to make the 3/4 mile climb; and then to be sucking all that CO into my lungs was not an enjoyable experience.

Our camping trip was a success, although everyone was tired and a little cranky by Monday.  One thing I learned is that two bikes is not enough for our family since they were in constant use and also being borrowed by friends.  Also, the boys have discovered the Rapidfires on the Marin and like them much better than the twist-grip shifters on the cheaper MTBs that we have. 

That is good to know because they are rapidly outgrowing those MTBs and I’m looking at building/acquiring larger bikes.  I hope to score a pair of drop bars for the blue Cannondale this week and get it set up for Ave; and I’m shopping around for a decent wheelset for the other C’dale frame that I picked up recently.  Finding a 700 rim laced to a 126mm hub is a challenge.

Finding time to ride is going to be hard for the next several weeks.  Last night I scored a stand of timber for firewood that will keep me busy, and our house warm, for some time to come.  It’s time to clean up the saws!

Misc. Miles: 7.1

Distance: 15 miles  2008: 1242.9

7 responses to “Ride Report: 09.03.08

  1. Harris has a reasonably priced set of 700c wheels for 126 spacing. They take freewheels. http://harriscyclery.net/itemdetails.cfm?ID=2325

    Other than that, unless you can find some used wheels, you’re probably looking at getting something built. Peter White has some 126mm 7-speed cassette hubs. You might also have a look at niagaracycle.com. They carry a decent selection of not-too-expensive wheels.

  2. Thanks Scott. There are also a few on Ebay that I’m following. Hopefully I can score something half decent that won’t break the bank.

  3. I’ve never actually had it done, but I’ve also heard that some shops can widen the spacing for dropouts on the frame. Might be easier than finding a non-standard size or paying a premium for it…

  4. You can cold set a steel frame but not aluminum. Sheldon Brown’s pages give a blow by blow on how to do it.

    I am tempted to try it with a C’dale frame sometime. I was able to squeeze a 130mm wheel on my blue frame once and it seemed like it wasn’t that much.

  5. I had the dropouts spread on my Trek from 126 to 130.

    Any interest in joining Scott and I for a bike camping trip soonish?

  6. Your Trek is steel, right?
    The camping trip is sooo tempting, but I can’t. Between baseball and soccer this fall, my weekends are stacked. I also don’t really have the gear for bike camping, although I think it’s in the cards for a few years from now. It looks like a great time.

  7. Yep, the trek is steel. I forgot you were dealing with aluminum.

    No worries on the camp out. My weekends are starting to stack up, too.

Leave a comment