Ride Report: 10.05.13

Figuring this might be the last chance for a warm weather ride for a while, I was fortunate enough to have a clear schedule on a Saturday morning.  Even if I wanted to gather some firewood, it was opening day of archery season, so staying out of the woods was probably a good idea.

Instead, I hit the road early and headed east…a direction I have not traveled in quite a while on the bike.  The first thing I discovered was that York Haven Road is being paved, so I had five miles of smooth surface to cruise along on until I got to the river.

I hope they fill in the berm because its quite a drop off in spots.

I hope they fill in the berm because its quite a drop off in spots.

Wago Road is always a nice ride through the recreation area and along the water.

I read this week in an environmental group's news release that Brunner Island is supposedly the worst polluting coal plant in the eastern US.

I read this week in an environmental group’s news release that Brunner Island is supposedly the worst polluting coal plant in the eastern US.

Once I got past the plant I detoured onto Gut Road.  I had not been down that way since last year about this time.  It was a little rough, but nothing the Trucker couldn’t handle.  Near the end three roadies were coming up and apparently not too pleased with the route.  One of them asked me how far they had to go until they hit pavement.

My own gravel grinding!

My own gravel grinding!

IMAG0038

I’m testing a mud flap. If this works out, I’ll find a piece of stiff black rubber for a permanent installation.

With scenery like this, how can one not stop for a break and rest the legs?IMAG0036At the end of Gut Road I spied a very rough double track that continues along the river.  At first I kept on going, but curiosity got the best of me, so I turned back and went exploring.  It’s pretty rough; looks like its a party area for four wheelers, as well as a walking in spot for serious fishermen.  Eventually the double track disappears into a walking path.IMAG0041The place was amply posted to make sure that no one was allowed to camp overnight.

The place was amply posted to make sure that no one was allowed to camp overnight.

Turning back west away from the river also means climbing…for quite a few miles.  You know you’re going to hit some small gears when the road is called “Starview.”

Eventually I reached my southernmost destination, Rudy Park.  There was a massive dog run with massive dogs, and this path, which connects with the northern terminus of the Heritage Rail Trail.  The plan is to connect this to the main trail, which would then give one a straight shot south to the Baltimore environs.  The problem I see is that up here the trail is primarily for walkers…paved with a lot of sharp, blind turns.  Biking needs to be pretty slow.IMAG0047IMAG0052While in the park I stopped briefly to check out a cancer walk fundraiser.IMAG0051I came back through Emigsville and Manchester, and took a stop to rest my legs.  It was so nice, I had trouble picking myself off the grass and getting back on the bike.

I scored two water bottles at Pedal Pushers yesterday.  Thanks guys!

I scored two water bottles at Pedal Pushers yesterday. Thanks guys!

There were a couple of pumpkin patch/farmer stands on the route.  This larger one was between Manchester and Strinestown.IMAG0055The biggest hill of the ride is coming up Old Trail Road after Strinestown.  Definitely granny gear for a slow steady climb.

Crossing I83 on Sheep Bridge Road.

Crossing I83 on Sheep Bridge Road.

My legs were a little tired for the last three miles, but overall I felt good.  The weather was almost perfect, and while I don’t look forward to hills, I enjoyed the change of scenery.  Whenever I finish one of these rides to the east, I end up wondering why I don’t go that way more often.

I think the foliage along Wago/Gut Road will be perfect in about two weeks or so.

Misc. Miles: 2.5

Distance: 35 miles  2013: 1030.4

Leave a Reply

