Ride Report: 07.31.13

Now that I know the lay of the land a little better, I was able to map out a more scenic ride for this morning that pretty much kept me off of the larger roads.  I rode up the western shore for a bit then did a dog leg over to the ocean side and in to Wildwood.

Wetlands with Wildwood on the horizon.

Wetlands with Wildwood on the horizon.

As I was crossing the road into Wildwood, I noticed some man-made nests sunk into the water for some sort of large raptor.  There were about half a dozen.  Right at the bridge there was one fairly close.IMAG0020Wildwood is much larger than Cape May and quite built up.  The road dumped me off of the main route and over to the shoreline, but a large seawall blocked the view of the ocean.  Quite a few bikers were out and about on this early weekday morning.

The only unexpected moment occurred when leaving Wildwood and heading back towards Rio Grande, when the bike lane suddenly disappears and I was routed into traffic on to a four lane draw bridge without any berm.  Fortunately I was able to get across between traffic lights.

The ride went quickly, so I took advantage of the extra time and rode out to Sunset Beach to check out the sites.

Remains of a concrete hulled ship.

Remains of a concrete hulled ship.

WW2 Sub Tower.  It doesn't lean like that - my software automatically tries to straighten things, and there was a leaning telephone pole that I cropped out that it must have keyed on.

WW2 Sub Tower. It doesn’t lean like that – my software automatically tries to straighten things, and there was a leaning telephone pole that I cropped out that it must have keyed on.

This ended up being a much more scenic ride than Monday.  Thunderstorms in the forecast for tomorrow, but I’m hoping for one last longer ride on Friday before we head for home.

Distance: 39.1 miles  2013: 746.3

Leave a Reply

