Ride Report: 07.06.13

This morning I continued my westward trekking with a ride out to Williams Grove, back to Boiling Springs, along the South Mountain to Mount Holly, north into Carlisle, back along Rt. 74 to Williams Grove, and home.

I almost turned around before getting started: a car attempted to pass me on a blind hill on the road just outside our neighborhood, and a second one decided it needed to pull out ahead of me at the same intersection our Honda was demolished two years ago…right in front of an oil tanker.  The truck had to hit the brakes hard and do some quick down shifting.  I was thinking if this is what the day has in store, I should just go home and enjoy the air conditioning.

But I was jones-ing bad for a ride, and Mr. Jones prevailed.

It was going to be hot and sunny, so a bandana/sweat band with my trusty crusty ball cap, a tank top that got replaced by an old cotton dress shirt in Boiling Springs, some sun screen, and not quite enough water.  I made a few short stops to rest my legs, and managed a respectable, but controlled pace non-the-less.  Using the Kent Peterson fuel method, I stopped at a Sheetz for a pit stop involving chocolate milk and peanut M&Ms that did the trick.

As usual, started seeing other bikes around Williams Grove.  Not all of them were racers, but there was one racer who appeared a little flustered having to hold back from the group to wait for his wife.  Like that’s going to get her to ride more…

What's a ride through Boiling Spring without stopping for a train?

What’s a ride through Boiling Spring without stopping for a train?

Pit stop.

Pit stop.

Investigating the Evil Road Diet/Bike Lanes in downtown Carlisle...life appeared to be moving along normally.

Investigating the Evil Road Diet/Bike Lanes in downtown Carlisle…life appeared to be moving along normally.

While I'm sitting there, this old boy comes along with his grocery cart/boom box carrier; and proceeds to disco across the street.  Here I thought Harrisburg had the lock on all the crazies.

While I’m sitting there, this old boy comes along with his grocery cart/boom box carrier; and proceeds to disco across the street. Here I thought Harrisburg had the lock on all the crazies.

The final stretch.  Riding along the Yellow Breeches I came across at least 100 cars on McCormick Road; all people tubing or in small kayaks.  It seems to be the new thing to do.

The final stretch. Riding along the Yellow Breeches I came across at least 100 cars on McCormick Road; all people tubing or in small kayaks. It seems to be the new thing to do.

Around mile 40 or so I could tell that my legs didn’t have the snap that they initially had, but I wasn’t hurting.  I’d say that the energy stores didn’t hit E until about mile 50, and by then I was close enough to home to tough it out.  It was hot – mid 90’s, but I like this weather.  Other than the questionable start, it was great to get back on the road.

BTW: Prepped the bike for the ride last night by rotating the tires – the rear is starting to show some wear; and I found that the rear derailleur was bent out slightly, which may have been causing a problem I’ve had with ghost shifting.  I bent it back and it seemed to help.

Misc. Miles: 1.5

Distance: 52.2 miles  2013: 488.8

Leave a Reply

