Spring Ahead Wrenching

With daylight just around the corner, I figured it was time to go over the bikes and get things ready.  This was prompted by the arrival of a Hermann’s LED dynamo taillight, for which I cobbled together a mount for the X bike.

020

This isn’t the best picture, but it shows how I bent up two thin rack mount pieces and bolted them in the rear eyelets.  Admittedly, it’s ugly; but it’s all I had available and the project has some challenges.  The picture doesn’t show it, but the light must fit in a 5 inch gap between the rear fender and the Carradice Barley just above it. 

There were a couple of  options I considered.  One was to come up with a fender mount, which can be a problem with plastic fenders, and a real problem if I want to run knobbies and remove the fenders.  Next was mounting it to the Midlands rack that holds the Barley, but that’s not sturdy enough.  I could have mounted a Nashbar front rack on the rear like I had on the LHT for a bit – that would be the cleanest and most secure, but I don’t want to load this bike down.  The final alternative would be to mount it on the bag itself and run the wiring with a plug of sorts.  I’m still chewing on that.

Since it was there, I went ahead and ran a wire up front to the dynamo just to test the light.  It’s very bright, as bright if not more than the B&M Topline; and it’s a bit larger.  I’m eager to compare the two side by side.  Construction looks like all plastic, but probably heavy enough to survive most use.

Also on my to-do list is to install the Tout Terrain Plug on the X bike, and then move the Cyo over as soon as the Luxos arrives.  The latest from Peter White is late March for the shipment.

The venerable Vetta computer is being replaced by a Planet Bike Protege wired unit, identical to the LHT.  It was an Ebay find for a low price.  I really like these units, even if this one replaces my 25 year old Vetta.

Then the only other thing on my list is the chain on the Trucker.  After 5K, its got a bit of stretch, so I should get around to replacing that in the next few weeks.

Of course, none of this includes the Bianchi project, which I noticed in the corner as I took the above pic this morning.  I really need to finish that up…

Leave a Reply

