I’m Walkin’, Yes Indeed…

I’m not sure why, but I’ve taken to some brisk walking several days a week.  The obvious reason is I need the exercise.  The question that begs an answer is why walking and not biking?

  1. Convenience – I can just take a half hour or so and traipse around the neighborhood without needing to change into bike kit.
  2. Company – Sometimes Red comes along for a lap or two.  I also usually walk the dog; he can keep up about a lap also.
  3. The Weather – It’s still pretty cold and there is ice about.  If I wear my wool coat, I warm up pretty quick.
  4. Something different – I’ll have the whole rest of the year to ride; consider it “cross-training.”

I’m up to about 2 1/2 miles at a brisk/talking pace.  I can feel it in my legs later, but my knees aren’t bothered at all.  I’m not eager to try jogging since I haven’t done any running in years.  I’d be worried about shin splints acting up, and I don’t have anything remotely resembling running shoes.

But…the weather’s supposed to be warming up soon.  We head for Chicago later this week; so hopefully some riding when we return!

Leave a Reply

