Ride Report: 12.12.11

You guessed it: laps.  I almost talked myself out of it because I was tired, but I also knew that I would perk up once I got started.  So after dinner and Jeopardy, I bundled up and hit the street.

It was cold.  This time, the heavy Merino shirt came out, which worked perfectly.  The only chill I felt was on the backs of my legs where the insulation on the tights is thinner, and around my temples where the balaclava does not cover. 

I’m really curious about how well my cheap rag/wool gloves work, even without any wind protection.  If I can manage to tuck the sleeves inside the wristlets of the gloves, I’m warm to the point of sweating where the skin is in direct contact; and this is in the 20’s!  I should check to see if anyone makes a jacket/shirt of similar material.  It would be great for riding/camping.

Distance: 7.4 miles  2011: 1464.8

2 responses to “Ride Report: 12.12.11

  1. “I’m really curious about how well my cheap rag/wool gloves work, even without any wind protection. If I can manage to tuck the sleeves inside the wristlets of the gloves, I’m warm to the point of sweating where the skin is in direct contact; and this is in the 20′s! I should check to see if anyone makes a jacket/shirt of similar material. It would be great for riding/camping.”

    I’d look at LL Bean. They have a line of ragg Wool sweaters. Been using them for years. They last and keep you warm when needed.

Leave a Reply

