Ride Report: 10.30.11

Spent an hour in the afternoon doing laps, since there was still a fair amount of snow along most roads.  At the end of the ride, when I was cooling off, I looked down and noticed my rear wheel wobbling.  Turns out I broke a spoke.  I don’t know what it is about this wheel, maybe the low spoke count, that causes that.

Distance: 13.9 miles  2011: 1369.9

2 responses to “Ride Report: 10.30.11

  1. how many spokes on the wheel? In general, less spokes means each carries more load. More problematic is if the spoke tension is too low or uneven between spokes. That will cause the loose ones to get looser which will put more flexing and stress on them. Guess I should have started by asking where the spoke broke. That opens a whole ‘nother can of worms…

    • Dave, 28 spoke count. Each time the spoke has broken at the hub. I don’t have a torque wrench for the spokes, so I do it by feel and sight by trueing the rim. I usually discover the break by noticing “something odd” about the feel, and then see the wheel out of true. Its a cheap Dimension hub, so could also be an issue.

Leave a Reply

