Cross Training

Yesterday I was due for a workout, but my shoulders hurt.  Not the type of outside muscle hurt, but deep-down joint/rotator cuff hurt.  I figure my body is telling me that I’m ramping up the rowing length and intensity too fast.

But my legs felt fine, and I had some spare time before the evening got started.  Next to the beast is a yard sale procured treadmill.  I’m not even sure we got it at a yard sale because I don’t remember paying anything for it.  It’s nothing special:  it’s got a lot of plastic parts and the belt is both too narrow and too short to allow running.  But it does have a healthy incline and the speed can get up there, so I decided to “speed walk” for 30 minutes.

I made a point to take long strides and lift my feet, and I could feel the effort when I started out.  Eventually I got settled in and got in a good, moderate workout.

That is, until about 3:00am when I woke up and my thighs were asking “what were you doing?”  It wasn’t that bad, but there was definitely enough acheing to get out of bed and pop two ibuprofen, had I not been inclined to just lay there in a daze for a few hours.

So I think there is a lesson here, and it involves mixing my workouts up a bit, and perhaps visiting the treadmill once a week or so.

Leave a Reply

