Ride Report: 01.03.11

Took a short fitness ride on the Quaker Road loop after dark.  I wore my midweight wool shirt under a windbreaker, which seems to do well from 45F down to freezing.  I also had on a pair of thick wool socks with my Sketchers, which I noticed getting cold when the temperature started dipping into the mid 30’s.

But the highlight of this ride was spotting a grey fox.  Just as I was approaching Rt. 177, he was standing in the middle of the road, somewhat startled.  He froze for an instant and then took off.

While its still a noteworthy event, seeing a red fox in this area is fairly common.  With the large amount of farm land that we still have, they do well with bedding down and feeding off of small critters.  But seeing a larger grey fox is a treat.

Distance: 9.8 miles  2011: 31.4

One response to “Ride Report: 01.03.11

  1. I live in the suburbs and I saw one just trotting down the middle of our street like he belonged there.

Leave a Reply

