Ride Report: 01.21.10

Brrr…  I was in too much of a hurry to get on the road last night that I didn’t think about the 35F temperature.  I had dressed adequately with two layers of wool under my jacket, but I should have also grabbed the Balaclava instead of just my wool beanie.  The first mile was one of those complete brain freeze experiences until my core warmed up and the blood flowed back into my head.

I’ll blame the rushing around on the arrival of my new used camera.  After figuring out that the Vivitar Vivicam that I got for Christmas was junk and we had already thrown out the receipt, I bought a used Nikon Coolpix 4600 off of Ebay for $25.  Why that model?  Because we already have one and it works great, so I figure having two might come in handy at some point.  Unfortunately, I discovered that the 4 gig SD card that I bought for the Vivitar doesn’t work in the Nikon…that model can only handle up to 2 gig.  For now I can store 24 pics on the internal memory, but I’ll be picking up another card in the next day or two.

I also got my REI front panniers.  They are actually roomier than what appears at first blush to be small.  Playing around, I was able to load all sorts of doo-dads in them.  Because of the low price, all they have are those aluminum coated hooks, which don’t wrap around the rack quite as snug as they should.  But never fear, it’s nothing a pair of channel locks and a cordless drill couldn’t handle.  I ended up installing two bolts that extend around the rack now and hold the bags snug.

I ended up doing the Old Quaker loop at a fitness pace.  ‘hope to get out on Saturday for a longer, slower ride.

Distance: 9.7 miles  2010: 27.2

Leave a Reply

