Ride Report: 06.15.09

My evening started somewhat rushed as I wanted to get over to the church softball game; but first, I had to install the new spoke I had picked up at Pedal Pushers and true up the wheel.  Although a little tedious, the install and fine tuning went without a hitch.  I don’t have a trueing stand, so I flipped the bike upside down in the yard and used the brake pads as a reference.  At times it felt like I was overtightening the spoke, but the wheel managed to come around and line up perfectly.

I also decided to pick up two extra spokes and mount them in the LHT’s fancy spoke holders that are brazed on to the left chainstay.  I may never use them, but at least I know where to find them just in case.  Speaking of just in case, I found my 30 year old spoke wrench and decided to throw that in the Pendle from now on.

To compensate for all of this additional weight, I eliminated the plastic “pie plate” that goes behind the cassette.  I know they serve a valid purpose, but they just seem a little bush league to me for a bike of this calibre.

So it was back on the road and off to the game.  I didn’t tell anyone, but I packed along my glove and a pair of soccer cleats, thinking that if they were really desperate for players, I’d volunteer.  I’ve never played slow pitch softball, but I’m thinking it might be fun to try.  I’d just need to figure out the hitting arc.  Fortunately for all concerned, my services were not required.

I also got the obligatory questions/amazement about “you rode your bike all the way here?!”  It was 8 miles with a few good hills, but nothing outrageous.  I probably wasn’t as patient as I should have been, but folks just need to get out and ride.  I think they would impress themselves pretty quick.

At the end of the game I took a scenic route home and enjoyed the country side.  It was a beautiful evening and I was tempted to go out further, but there were other things to do.

Distance: 20.9 miles  2009: 519.9

Leave a Reply

