Ride Report: 01.04.09

Got out last night for a ride down the length of Old Quaker Road.  Felt great on a crisp ride with moderate hills; I was surprised that traffic was heavier, but then I was out a little earlier as well – 6:30-7:30.

24 degrees F.  I purchased my final piece of wool for the season – a Banana Republic Merino sweater with a full zipper.  They list for $80 and I got it for $15.  When it arrived yesterday Red said it looks more like an office sweater and was too nice for biking.  Still, I opted to try it under the Illuminite jacket.  It was perfect.  I didn’t notice, but when I got back the inside liner of the jacket was wet, but I couldn’t really feel any moisture on the sweater.  I’m sold on merino wool.  Any colder and I can layer the lightweight shirt underneath the sweater; any warmer and I can go with just the shirt.  Either way, I’m going to give the Underarmor to my son since he is always nicking it anyway.

For pants I wore a pair of Cannondale winter tights with lycra padded shorts underneath.  At first they were (are) cool on the backs because that is where the lighter breathable fabric is; but once you warm up they feel fine.  So all in all, I believe I finally have all the winter riding gear worked out and have a pretty good idea what works under which conditions.

Distance: 13.3 miles  2009: 22.7

Leave a Reply

