Walnut Bottom Road?

I’m working on another possible route for a century ride after my explorations into Cumberland County.  This one involves pushing past Mount Holly into Newville and then taking the Cumberland Valley Rail Trail into Shippensburg. 

My question comes up with the return route, where I’d get back to Mount Holly using Walnut Bottom Road.  It looks like there is a fairly good climb at one point, but how are the berms and overall conditions for riding on this stretch?  I’m talking Shippensburg to Hockersville/Rt. 233?

If anyone is familiar with this area, please drop a comment.  thx.

At this point, using Bikely, I’m at 93 miles.  I might look at going south on the return route, down through Dillsburg and Pinchot on Route 74; but there are quite a few hills down that way and I’m not sure I’d be up for them at the end of the ride.

Leave a Reply

