Ugh!

I’ve mentioned a few times that our primary heat for our home is a woodstove.  This fall I lucked into a large red oak tree that a friend needed removed because it had suffered a lightening strike and died.  This Saturday I finished up splitting the larger rounds, which is the timbering term for the cut up trunk.  There were maybe a dozen rounds, ranging from 20 to 24 inches in diameter, and roughly 20 inched long.  Each round weighs in at well over 100 pounds.

Fortunately my log splitter is the type that pivots so you can roll the round to it and bring the ram down on top of it.  Once the log is split into managable pieces, you can then return the splitter to its horizontal configuration and move much faster.  It results in a lot of wood, but it is also all strength work.  Rolling and lifting these logs around on Saturday completely wore me down, so that my thighs were hamburger on Sunday and my knees were also acheing, which is uncommon.  Fortunately I learned long ago to lift with my legs and not my back, so no problems there.  Unfortunately, there was no way that I was going to get out for even a short ride.  And that’s a shame, because the temps were in the forties yesterday; and this week we are flirting with record warms – mid 60s.  There is a remote chance that I might take an afternoon off and work on my “mental health.”

Leave a Reply

