Ride Report

Got out last night for a great cruise through parts of Newberry, Fairview, and Warrington Townships.  Went down through Lisburn and then over by Roundtop.  I took a mess of pictures with my Pocketcam, but didn’t get to upload them yet.

I’ve been giving thought to an article recently posted by Kent Peterson on life at 12mph.  You get the point.  I see that I usually average around 13-14mph, so last night I made an effort to not push myself as much, enjoy the scenery, and hopefully not feel as spent afterwards.  If I slow down a little bit, I might also be able to go out quite a bit further when I want to.  Cycling needs to be an enjoyable and relaxing activity.

I did something last night that I have not done since starting up riding again two years ago….I wore a helmet.  Yes, I’ve been reading about some miraculous saves and I know all of the common sense arguments, but what prompted me was recent thoughts about setting an example for my kids.  They don’t ride as much as I would like them to, and if I’m going to convince them to get out more, then they better wear their helmets; so I better too.  It was very hot, so maybe I need something different, but I’ll give it a few more tries before any changes.

As for the bike…  I’ve got a minor creaking up front.  It could be fender related, but I’m not sure.  Also, I learned that I need to be in a lower rear gear and rather purposeful when dropping into the granny; otherwise the chain slips all the way off if I just throw it down.  The gearing is so much lower than the Marin that I’m usually already at a crawl anyway when dropping into the granny.  The more I use the 36, the more I like it.  Having 48/11 for the big gear works just fine.  Coming off of Moore’s Mountain I topped out spinning at 43mph – and the handling was stable.  I also discovered that my Nashbar computer is not auto start.  I never heard of that.  It works fine, but only after I push a button to power it up.

I want to start planning rides with a destination.  Usually my rides are “mileage driven” or “time driven.”  This summer, I want to be able to say “I rode to….”  Does that make sense?

I’m taking this Friday off so I can get some work done around the house.  If I can get finished, I hope to cartop up to Pedal Pushers to show them the finished bike, and then go up to the Stoney Creek Trail.  I’ve never been there and it would be a change of scenery.

Distance: 18 miles

4 responses to “Ride Report

  1. I’d be interested to hear how you make out at Stony Creek. Some parts of the trail are a little rough, and I’ve been wondering if 37mm tires would be adequate.

    I’ll probably be taking my karate monkey up there for it’s initial shakedown cruise.

  2. How come none of my comments show up???

  3. Oh, now it shows up. Sorry:-)

    About helmets?

    Buy something with lots of vents, it’ll be more bearable.

  4. Stony Creek is one of the few trails I have been on, and it’s really nice. Even on the weekend day I went last summer it was very quiet after the first 5 or 7 miles. On my trip, I had a problem with a flat tire, and I was running 26×1.5″ tires, but I was 240+ pounds at the time, and I was carrying 35lbs of camping equipment. A normal rider under normal circumstances would probably not be so unlucky.

Leave a Reply

