Movies

Real quick: I realized that I’ve seen a few movies over the past week that I need to mention.

– Fever Pitch: I think my son ordered this one because it is about baseball.  It’s basically a “chick flik” love story about this otherwise nice guy who ends up dating a girl and everything is fine until the Sox’ season begins.  His fanatism creates problems with their relationship yadda yadda…  It’s cute light-hearted faire that guys can tolerate because of the baseball angle, but otherwise it’s still a chick flik.

– Inside Man:  I liked it.  Definitely a guys movie about a bank heist with some interesting angles, but also with a somewhat cerebral slant.  Only at the end does it get a little bit preachy, but I can cut it some slack based on the overall good quality.

– The Pianist: Another dark and depressing story, and a true one at that.  Set in Warsaw during WW2, it portrays this Jewish man’s struggle to survive.  More-so, however, I found myself numbed by the horror displayed in some of the scenes – definitely not for the squeamish.  Interestingly, this episode in history was dealt with in great detail by Churchill in the memoirs I had just finished reading in December.  The movie does not deal at all with the Russian strategy, but it was interesting to know what was going on.

One response to “Movies

  1. Pingback: movies » Movies

Leave a Reply

