Ride Report: 09.21.10

La belle Luna!

‘took another night ride with a beautiful full moon that lit up the road and the night time scenery.  I find that with the cooler air I tend to go out faster, and this morning I’m feeling that.  I want to get my fitness level back to where it should be, but that’s not going to happen if I burn myself out.  So…gradually ramp up the miles, but maintain “cruising” speed.

According to Alan at Ecovelo, a good rule of thumb for stem/top tube/seat position sizing is that there should be a straight line between the rider’s eyes, the handlebars, and the front hub.  My bars are way out in front, and it results in me rarely riding in the drops, and not that often on the hooks.  Rather, I tend to favor resting my hands on the “tops”, where the bars curve forward.  Before someone tries to sell me a 58cm LHT, I think I might play around with a slightly shorter stem to see how it feels.

In other news, Russ and Laura from Path Less Pedaled are in the area.  They spent a few days in Baltimore, then came up the Heritage Trail to York, and are now in Jonestown, Lebanon County, for a few days.  They have an extended video/interview up here.  I’m mulling over buying their new e-book on touring gear.  While I’ve known about their blog(s) for some time, I just started following them a few weeks back.

Distance: 18.4 miles  2010: 896.4

Leave a Reply

